

CSN Safety and Security Committee 2022 – 2023 Membership

- Co-Chairs
 - Jessica Moore
 - Carey Sedlacek
- ASCSN representative
 - Noah Yaco
- CSN-Faculty Senate representative
 - o Julian Smit
- CSN-NFA representative
 - o Jill Acree
- CSN-AFA representative
 - o Meghan Ezekiel
- CSN Office of the President representative
 - Lawrence Weekly
 - Carol Fimmen
- CSN-Classified Council representative
 - Shuntel Owens-Rogers
- Dean of School of Applied Technology (designee)
 - Michael Spangler
- Dean of Arts & Letters (designee)
 - o Robert Bonora
- Dean of Business, Hospitality & Public Services (designee)
 - o Braiden Green
- Dean of Education, Behavioral & Social Sciences (designee)
 - Kellie Hagewen
- Dean of Health Sciences (designee)
 - Dianne Sunga
- Dean of Science & Mathematics (designee)
 - o Cristina Aguaiza
- Student Affairs Division representative
 - Dane Hawley
- Academic Affairs Support representative
 - Emily King
- Division of Workforce and Economic Development representative
 - o Sabrina Cruz
- Finance & Administration Division representative
 - Paula Gonzales
- Charleston Campus VP representative
 - o Khrys FuQua
- Henderson Campus VP representative
 - Rebecca Gates
- North Las Vegas Campus VP representative
 - Daniel Alvarado
- Nevada American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) representative
- Executive Leaders
 - Mary Kaye Bailey
 - o Adam Garcia



Safety & Security Committee Bylaws

A. Name

The name of this committee shall be the *College of Southern Nevada Safety & Security Committee* hereafter referred to as the "Committee".

B. Purpose

Acting in an advisory role to the College President, the Committee, comprised of representatives from across the College community, will assist in monitoring, improving, and maintaining a safe and secure campus environment for employees, students, and visitors.

C. Charge

The Committee shall receive and evaluate safety and security concerns affecting the College community and recommend appropriate corrective or preventive actions to the President. The Committee will foster cooperative communication between students, staff, and leadership to maintain a safe and secure campus environment.

D. Reporting

The Committee shall report directly to the Vice President Finance & Administration.

E. Structure of the Committee

The Committee shall consist of members who represent academic, administrative, classified employee and student interests.

- 1. The Co-Chairs of the Committee shall be:
 - a. Director of Environmental Health &Safety (or designee)
 - b. Assistant Director, Regional Division, University Police Services (or designee)
- 2. Membership shall be comprised of the following positions as appointed by the respective Vice President for each division or the President, as appropriate:
 - a. ASCSN representative
 - b. CSN-NFA President or designee
 - c. CSN-Faculty Senate Chair or designee
 - d. CSN-AFA Chair or designee
 - e. CSN-Classified Council President or designee
 - f. CSN Office of the President representative
 - g. Dean of School of Applied Technology (designee)
 - h. Dean of Arts & Letters (designee)
 - i. Dean of Business, Hospitality & Public Services (designee)
 - j. Dean of Education, Behavioral & Social Sciences (designee)
 - k. Dean of Health Sciences (designee)

- I. Dean of Science & Mathematics (designee)
- m. Division of Workforce and Economic Development representative
- n. Student Affairs Division representative
- o. Finance & Administration Division representative
- p. Charleston Campus VP/Provost representative
- q. Henderson Campus VP/Provost representative
- r. North Las Vegas Campus VP/Provost representative
- Non-student members will serve two-year terms. Student members will serve a one-year term.
 Nominations will be solicited by September 1 of each year. If a member vacates a position, the
 appropriate Vice President shall appoint a member to fill the vacant position within thirty (30)
 days.

F. Duties and Responsibilities

1. CSN President

It is the responsibility of the President to support the Committee's mission to promote safety and security within the College and among its faculty, staff, students, and visitors.

2. Vice President, Finance & Administration

It is the responsibility of the Vice President Finance & Administration to consider safety and security recommendations provided by committee and them bring to the Executive Team, as needed.

3. The Committee

It is the responsibility of the Committee to:

- a. Conduct regularly scheduled meetings as prescribed herein.
- b. Discuss safety and security related topics, and provide recommendations as appropriate including, but not limited to accident prevention, safety promotion, safety concerns and/or recommendations received from the College community, and other pertinent safety and security related subjects, offer recommendations for improvement in the areas of safety and security, and assist in developing periodic safety and security awareness campaigns across the College's campuses.

4. Co-Chairs

It is the duty of the Co-Chairs to preside at all meetings of the committee, prepare the meeting agendas, and appoint *ad-hoc* sub-committees as necessary.

5. Committee Members

The duties of the members are:

- a. Attend all meetings (or sending a proxy in their place).
- b. Represent the College community and their constituents by taking safety concerns and recommendations to the Committee. Report any unsafe or unsecure working or learning conditions.
- c. Promote campus safety and security by communicating with their constituents regarding safety and security issues.

_	B 4 A *	
G.	Meetii	ngs

The Committee shall meet regularly, at a minimum quarterly, during the calendar year and, in addition, on an as needed basis.

H. Published Information

Membership lists and other committee-related information shall be posted on appropriate College website(s).

Approvals

	1 -
1	10/5/202
	193/00

Adam Garcia, VP Public Safety Services

10/06/2022

Mary Kaye Bailey, VP Finance & Administration

Date

Date

Talein Jung - 10/18/2022

Federico Zaragoza, President

Date